Three Schools Honored by Project Lead The Way
Three Schools Honored by Project Lead The Way
Posted on 06/21/2021
Three IRSD schools recently earned national recognition from Project Lead The Way. 

John M. Clayton Elementary School, Selbyville Middle School and Indian River High School were all named PLTW Distinguished Schools for 2020-2021.

The PLTW Distinguished School recognition celebrates districts and schools committed to helping students own their education by increasing student access, engagement and achievement in their PLTW programs. These districts and schools empower their students to unlock their potential by developing the in-demand, real-world STEM knowledge and skills necessary to thrive in life beyond the classroom.

The PLTW Launch program at John M. Clayton Elementary began during the 2016-2017 school year. Jaime Swartz has been the teacher for the program since its inception. All students at JMC participate in the program. The 2021-2022 school year will mark the first group of students to have participated in this program for all six years of their elementary schooling. This is the third consecutive year that JMC has been honored with the distinction of being a PLTW Launch Distinguished School.

SMS was the only middle school in the State of Delaware to earn this accolade for 2020-2021 while Indian River High School was one of just 158 schools nationwide to be named a PLTW Distinguished Gateway School.

Congratulations to JMC, SMS and IRHS for providing broad access to transformative learning opportunities for students through the PLTW program. PLTW is a nonprofit organization that serves millions of PreK-12 students and teachers in schools across the U.S.

For more information about PLTW’s recognition program, visit

Project lead the way